top of page

The Green Revolution: A Daily Transformation



A green smoothie can be a great source of cancer-fighting minerals

Green. The color of nature, growth, and life. As a kid, I saw green as the hue of money and capitalism. But as an adult seeking vitality and better health, I've come to value green leafy vegetables in a whole new light.


The National Institute of Health estimates over 142 million Americans over 50 will have a chronic disease by 2050. Concerning statistics, especially when considering the younger generations already impacted. Why is this happening? It's a variety of factors. Largely due to diets low in fresh fruits and vegetables and high in sodium and saturated fats, inadequate exercise, and excessive alcohol use.


Like many, I was born with a sweet tooth. Bitter greens like Brussels sprouts and broccoli weren't my thing. Though I shied away from greens as a child, I now make different choices. Dark leafy greens contain essential minerals, unmatched by other foods. These minerals interact with vitamins, enzymes, other minerals and more to create a symphony of health within us. The amount of minerals we need depend on the type of climate we're in, activity levels, sex, age, body weight, and other factors. Science hasn't yet discovered all the minerals our bodies need, but it's clear most of us lack essential trace minerals.


The vitamin K in greens helps prevent inflammation and osteoporosis. Their folate and B vitamins promote heart health, and may prevent certain cancers and birth defects. The USDA rates leafy greens among the best cancer-fighting foods.


I see eating greens as making deposits into my health account. Consistent deposits grow my potential for vitality. I'm still learning to appreciate the various flavor profiles of colorful salads and fiber-rich smoothies with romaine, kale, spinach, mustard greens, collard greens, bok choy, dandelion greens, and more.


While not a panacea, greens contain a tremendous density of minerals, vitamins and nutrients essential for resilience and health. Incorporating more greens on a regular basis is an investment in my future wellbeing. Their life-giving minerals and nutrients are helping me grow stronger, energized, and healthier every day.


Best of health,

Will


Look out for my new health and wellness book coming 2024 - #health #wellness #fitness #eattolive

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

Follow Us

  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page