top of page

The Calculated Risk of Writing What Inspires You



Change is coming
Change is coming

As I finalize my upcoming book on health, wellness, and fluidly aging, I've been reflecting on the risks of authors changing subjects between books. 


My first book was an intimate, first-hand account of surviving a major 7.0 earthquake. As a means of coping with the shock and trauma, I felt compelled to write about my experience as a form of self-therapy. I hoped to chronicle every detail that my senses could retain in the aftermath. It was an emotional, gripping story that allowed me to share the experience with the world. Quake: Horror and Hope in Haiti represents my perspective in those moments in time. However, while writing it was cathartic, my true passion has always been empowering people to live healthier, more meaningful lives. I felt inspired to pursue this purpose and share it with readers. 


While it may be risky to switch genres and/or topics, I felt called to write the book I've dreamed about for years. Numerous meaningful interactions I've had with readers in person and online have shown how much my writing has connected with people on a human level. My hope is that this connection will carry over to my new book on health, wellness and becoming our best selves as we age.


My goal is to demystify misconceptions and champion the art of aging with vibrancy and purpose. I believe living our healthiest lives is the path to becoming our best selves as we mature and embrace each season of life. Though the topics differ, my passion remains the same - empowering others through the power of storytelling. This book represents another effort to make a positive impact.


I'd love to hear your thoughts on pivoting subjects. Have you changed topics between books? What challenges did you face? How did you maintain your existing readership while expanding to new audiences? 


I believe if we write from the heart, we will find our readers. I can't wait to share this new labor of love with you all soon! This pivot has allowed me to pursue my true calling as a writer. I trust that my earthquake story has connected me with readers who will be open to coming along on my next adventures.


Best of health,

Will



Look out for my new holistic health and well-being book coming in 2024 - #health #wellness #fitness #writing #author

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Search By Tags

Follow Us

  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page